So this Sunday, marks my official one month of no soda! Honestly It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I don’t do “New years resolutions” But I did decide that I wanted to go one week without soda. none. zilch. nada.

I figured since I was going from 3-4 sodas a day It would be difficult to quit cold turkey. Much to my surprise it was extremely easy. I just switch from Soda to tea/water. After seeing how easily it was to do the first week I just decided to go another week. From there I just decided to go an entire month!

So 27 days with no soda and I no longer have cravings for it. By this I mean I do not feel like I have to have it to get through the day. Lucky for me I have never been one to hold addictions, so just deciding to stop something is fairly easy for me.

When I first went into this one of my goals was to lose some weight (not that I needed to) My weight on January 2nd 2017 was:

115.8 lbs

muscle mass 48.7

Body fat was 22.9

I will update this post with the final weight in a few days!

With my goal in mind it did make it easier to keep the soda away. I have been getting my weight checked every week to watch the progress even closer and it seems to fluctuate with my clothes, time of day etc but in all honesty so far has stayed pretty close to the same.

Another thing I noticed was I felt considerably less bloated over all and my moods seemed to slightly even out.

Also keeping in mind I decided to do a 30 day workout challenge so I was doing squats, push-ups, sit-ups etc. However had to quit about a week ago do to back injuries. My max squats was 230 in one set which ended up being my downfall.

If you are looking to to try the 30 day no soda challenge I would recommend:

A. Commit, make sure this is something you want to do for yourself. If you slip up no big deal keep going! every one gets a cheat day.

B. Get support, make sure you have a good support group that respect your decision.

C. Try replacing soda slowly with Tea or water if you are a heavy soda drinker. It may help to add flavoring to your water whether it be a natural fruit that you just let infuse your water or just a water flavor juice. (I use black cherry) Every time you feel the urge to drink soda try a flavored water or tea before drinking the soda.

D. Keep a journal for yourself to see your progress.

The first few days are the hardest but it will soon get easier. If you need someone to help support you please feel free to message me and I will do what I can to help you 🙂

-Feisty

Leave a Reply

